› Sign up to our newsletter

What’s on

October 2016

Museum Drop-in

Sun 2 October, 2pm-3.30pm

Museum Drop-in

During this Roman themed family drop-in, try on period costume, handle artefacts and learn about the history of Fulham Palace.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 3 October, Mon 10 Oct, Mon 17 Oct, Mon 24 Oct, Mon 31 Oct, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 4 October, Tue 11 Oct, Tue 18 Oct, Tue 25 Oct, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 5 October, Sun 9 Oct, Sun 16* Oct, Tue 18 Oct, Sun 23 Oct, 2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Click here for more information on tours.

Garden Walk

Thu 6 October, 2pm

Garden Walk

Join us for this tour of the Fulham Palace garden and discover more about its history and the rare plants grown at the Palace today.

The garden has a long and fascinating history dating back to the Tudor period when Bishop Grindal introduced the tamarisk to England through to Bishop Compton’s famous collection of plants in the early 1700s.

Event Details
Apple Day Celebration

Sun 9 October, 11am-3pm

Apple Day Celebration

Celebrate the apple harvest with us in our Walled Garden, home to our Apple Orchard! With activities for the whole family to enjoy from apple displays, tastings, demonstrations, storytelling, live music as well as food and drink stalls.

Event Details
Youth Panel: Animation

Sat 15 October, 2pm-4pm

Youth Panel: Animation

Join us each month for a host of fun activities and the opportunity learn some new creative skills and meet new people. If you like arts and history or just want to get involved in something creative in your local community this is for you!

Event Details
Butterfield and Fulham Palace

Thu 20 October, 2pm

Butterfield and Fulham Palace

Renowned architect William Butterfield designed the Chapel and other areas of the Palace. He was a major influence in developing the High Victorian Gothic style. Join Curator Miranda Poliakoff for a tour of his work.

Event Details
Bronze Arts Award in a Week

Mon 24 October, 10pm-4pm

Bronze Arts Award in a Week

Get creative this half-term and make new friends whilst learning a new artistic skill! In October half-term Fulham Palace are offering anybody between the ages of 11 and 16 the chance to complete their Bronze Arts Award.

Event Details
Bones, Bats and Bumps in the Night Workshop

Tue 25 October, 10am-3pm

Bones, Bats and Bumps in the Night Workshop

Uncover the secret nocturnal world of owls and bats during this session led by Brenna Boyle from Wild Capital. Examine bones, skeletons and remains, take part in a quiz and test your knowledge of bat echolocation.

 

Event Details
Museums at Night: The Georgian Gin Palace

Fri 28 October, 6.20pm-10.00pm

Museums at Night: The Georgian Gin Palace

Step back in time, as we celebrate the Georgian era for Museums at Night 2016. Local distillery and masters of artisan spirits Sipsmith will be in residence, tickling your taste buds with their gin tastings, whilst the Royal College of Music takes you on a melodious journey of period entertainment through our historic spaces.

Event Details
Hallowe’en Crafts and Pumpkin Parade

Sun 30 October, 2pm-4.30pm

Hallowe’en Crafts and Pumpkin Parade

Enjoy Hallowe'en themed crafts and face painting in Bishop's Park. Bring a pre-carved pumpkin and any musical instruments or noisy objects so we can make some noise to scare away the ghouls on a pumpkin parade at 4pm.

 

Event Details
Fulham Palace Young People’s Ghost Tour

Sun 30 October, 6pm-7pm

Fulham Palace Young People’s Ghost Tour

Join us for a spine-chilling after-dark tour and hear spooky tales of haunting bishops and ghostly apparitions at the Palace. Don't forget to bring a torch!

Event Details
Fulham Palace Ghost Tour

Mon 31 October, 7pm

Fulham Palace Ghost Tour

Hear the tales of hauntings by bishops and other inhabitants of this Tudor building during this exclusive after-hours ghost tour.

Event Details

November 2016

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 2 November, Sun 13 Nov*, Tue 15 Nov, Sun 20 Nov*, Sun 27 Nov* 2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Weekday tours begin at 2pm, Sunday tours at 12.30pm. Click here for more information on tours.

 

Head Gardener’s Autumn Walk

Thu 3 November, 2pm-3pm

Head Gardener’s Autumn Walk

Join Lucy Hart, Head Gardener for an atmospheric autumnal tour of the garden to learn about its history, ongoing projects and future plans.

Event Details
The Palace Explorers

Tue 1 November, Tue 8 Nov, Tue 15 Nov, Tue 22 Nov, Tue 29 Nov, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 7 November, Mon 14 Nov, Mon 21 Nov, Mon 28 Nov, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Bulb and Planter Workshop: Winter into Spring

Sat 12 November, 10.30am-12.30pm

Bulb and Planter Workshop: Winter into Spring

Learn how to create your own planter for an attractive Winter/Spring display as Head Gardener Lucy Hart takes you step by step through the process of planting up winter bedding and a selection of delightful spring bulbs.

Event Details
Brian Thomas In Paint and Glass

Mon 21 November, 2pm-3pm

Brian Thomas In Paint and Glass

During this talk stained glass maker and writer, Caroline Swash, examines the work of Brian Thomas, who painted the murals in the Chapel at Fulham Palace in 1953, together with his students from the Byam Shaw School of Drawing and Painting.

Event Details
Christmas Past at Fulham Palace

Wed 30 November, 2pm-3pm

Christmas Past at Fulham Palace

Hear how the Bishops and their families celebrated Christmas at Fulham Palace during this festive tour with Miranda Poliakoff, Curator.

Free, booking recommended. Click here to book.

December 2016

Father Christmas

Sat 3 December, 9am-3.30pm

Father Christmas

Father Christmas is returning to Fulham Palace! Bring the whole family to visit Santa Claus in our beautifully decorated Tudor Great Hall, and make sure your are on the Nice list to receive your special present!

Event Details
Christmas Wreath Making

Sat 3 December, 9.30am-1.30pm and 2.30pm-6.30pm

Christmas Wreath Making

Learn how to craft and wire your own moss wreath ring before adorning it with lush seasonal foliage cut fresh from the Palace gardens. Finish your wreath by learning how best to add natural decorations, beautiful ribbons, or even a little bit of sparkle!

Event Details
Father Christmas

Sun 4 December, 9am-5.30pm

Father Christmas

Father Christmas is returning to Fulham Palace! Bring the whole family to visit Santa Claus in our beautifully decorated Tudor Great Hall, and make sure your are on the Nice list to receive your special present!

Event Details
The Palace Explorers

Mon 5 December, Mon 12 Dec, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 6 December, Tue 13 Dec, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 7 December, Sun 11 Dec*, Sun 18 Dec*, 2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Weekday tours begin at 2pm, Sunday tours at 12.30pm. Click here for more information on tours.

 

Father Christmas

Sun 11 December, 9am-5pm

Father Christmas

Father Christmas is returning to Fulham Palace! Bring the whole family to visit Santa Claus in our beautifully decorated Tudor Great Hall, and make sure your are on the Nice list to receive your special present!

Event Details
Christmas Pantomime- Aladdin

Sun 11 December, 11am and 1pm

Christmas Pantomime- Aladdin

Follow the resourceful Aladdin and his best friend, the mischievous monkey Abu, in this classic tale of rags to riches – with an evil sorcerer, a magical lamp and a genie that holds the power to grant his master three wishes.

Event Details
Family Christmas Carol Concert

Sun 11 December, 3.30pm- 4.30pm

Family Christmas Carol Concert

Sing along to favourite Christmas carols at our child-friendly concert for the whole family. Held in our Victorian Chapel, this concert features the Fulham Children’s Choir with festive classics that both young and old will enjoy.

Event Details
Christmas Carol Concert

Sun 11 December, 6.30pm-8pm

Christmas Carol Concert

Come along for an evening of Christmas celebration in our atmospheric Victorian Chapel. Join in with traditional carols led by the Fulham Camerata choir.

Event Details

January 2017

The Palace Explorers

Mon 2 January, Mon 9 Jan, Mon 16 Jan, Mon 23 Jan, Mon 30 Jan, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 3 January, Tue 10 Jan, Tue 17 Jan, Tue 24 Jan, Tue 31 Jan, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 4 January, Sun 8 Jan*, Sun 15 Jan*, Tue 17 Jan, Sun 22 Jan*, 2pm/*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Weekday tours begin at 2pm, Sunday tours at 12.30pm. Click here for more information on tours.

The Angel in the Detail: Architectural Secrets of Fulham Palace

Thu 12 January, 2pm-3pm

The Angel in the Detail: Architectural Secrets of Fulham Palace

Examine the plasterwork, stained glass and carving that decorate Fulham Palace during this special tour with Miranda Poliakoff, Curator.

Free, booking recommended. Click here to book.

February 2017

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 1 February, Sun 12 Feb*, Sun 19 Feb*, Tue 21 Feb, Sun 26 Feb*, 2pm/*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Weekday tours begin at 2pm, Sunday tours at 12.30pm. Click here for more information on tours.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 6 February, Mon 13 Feb, Mon 20 Feb, Mon 27 Feb, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

Apple Tree Pruning Workshop

Mon 6 February, 10.30am-12.30pm

Apple Tree Pruning Workshop

Find out how to get the very best out of your apple and pear trees following this practical, hands-on guide to winter pruning with Lucy Hart, Head Gardener.

Event Details
The Palace Explorers

Tue 7 February, Tue 14 Feb, Tue 21 Feb, Tue 28 Feb, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

Opera at the Palace

Fri 17 February, 7.30pm-9.30pm

Opera at the Palace

We are delighted to partner once again with the National Opera Studio for this fabulous evening of opera at Fulham Palace. Take advantage of this rare opportunity to see emerging stars of the future in an intimate setting.

Event Details
The Continuity of Heritage Carving: Why and How

Sat 18 February, 2pm-4pm

The Continuity of Heritage Carving: Why and How

Master wood carver Hugh Wedderburn examines the point of modern day craftsmanship in today's age of outsourcing and digital printing.

Event Details
Fulham Palace of the Future

Mon 27 February, 2pm-3pm

Fulham Palace of the Future

During this afternoon talk, leading heritage architects, Purcell, discuss both the challenges and opportunities presented by the forthcoming restoration project at Fulham Palace.

Free, booking recommended. Click here to book.

March 2017

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 1 March, Sun 12 Mar*, Sun 19 Mar*, Tue 21 Mar, Sun 26 Mar*2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Click here for more information on tours.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 6 March, Mon 13 Mar, Mon 20 Mar, Mon 27 Mar, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 7 March, Tue 14 Mar, Tue 21 Mar, Tue 28 Mar, 9.30am-10.30am and 11am-12pm

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4. £4 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential. Click here for more information and to book.

Landscaping the Palace

Thu 23 March, 2pm

Landscaping the Palace

Lucy Hart, Head Gardener, leads this tour of the gardens at Fulham Palace examining the proposed landscape works for our upcoming restoration project. A rare opportunity to learn more about this landmark project and envisage the gardens of the future.

Event Details
Designed at Richard P Chapman Design Associates