› Sign up to our newsletter

What’s on

February 2016

The Palace Explorers

Mon 1 February, Mon 8 Feb, Mon 15 Feb, Mon 22 Feb, Mon 29 Feb, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 2 February, Tue 9 Feb, Tue 16 Feb, Tue 23 Feb, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Palace Stories

Tue 2 February, Tue 23 February, 2pm-2.30pm

Palace Stories

Hear the Palace’s history brought to life in these tales of the characters who lived here and stories inspired by our beautiful surroundings.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 3 February, Sun 14 Feb, Tue 16 Feb, Sun 21 Feb*, Sun 28 Feb, 2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Click here for more information on tours.

Discovering historic replica costume at Fulham Palace

Mon 8 February, 2pm

Discovering historic replica costume at Fulham Palace

Learn about our fascinating costume collection with Esther Dean, a distinguished costume designer and one of our volunteers. Attendees will also have the opportunity to examine the costumes closely and dress up.

Event Details
Opera at the Palace – SOLD OUT

Fri 26 February, 7.30pm

Opera at the Palace – SOLD OUT

Once again we are delighted to welcome another group of exceptional young singers from the National Opera Studio to the intimate setting of our Tudor Great Hall. To add to the occasion, a three course dinner is also available in one of our historic rooms.

Event Details
Young Archaeologists’ Club: The Moat

Sat 27 February, 10.30am-12.15pm

Young Archaeologists’ Club: The Moat

Did you know that the Fulham Palace moat is the longest domestic moat in England and marks the boundary of the current Scheduled Monument? Find out about its history and the recent work archaeologists have done excavating sections during this month's session.

Event Details
Fulham Palace Youth Panel

Sat 27 February, 2pm-4pm

Fulham Palace Youth Panel

Fulham Palace has started a Youth Panel! This is a chance to get involved in what happens at the Palace from exhibitions to archaeology digs, family events to conservation work.

Event Details

March 2016

The Palace Explorers

Tue 1 March, Tue 8 Mar, Tue 15 Mar, Tue 22 Mar, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Palace Stories

Tue 1 March, Tue 29 March, 2pm-2.30pm

Palace Stories

Hear the Palace’s history brought to life in these tales of the characters who lived here and stories inspired by our beautiful surroundings.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 2 March, Sun 13 Mar, Tue 15 Mar, Sun 20 Mar*, Sun 27 Mar, 2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Click here for more information on tours.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 7 March, Mon 14 Mar, Mon 21 Mar, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Examining Paint: Recent Discoveries at Fulham Palace

Mon 7 March, 2pm

Examining Paint: Recent Discoveries at Fulham Palace

Curious about what paint analysis can reveal about the history of our buildings? Catherine Hassall discusses the results of her research here, and her work for the current restoration project.

Event Details
Study Day: A History of Gardens in 10 Objects

Sat 12 March, 10am-4pm

Study Day: A History of Gardens in 10 Objects

Be inspired by the rich horticultural heritage of our surroundings on this study day with garden historians David Marsh and Letta Jones.

Event Details
A Bird’s Egg: The Most Perfect Thing

Wed 16 March, 7pm-8.30pm

A Bird’s Egg: The Most Perfect Thing

Bestselling author and ornithologist Tim Birkhead reveals how a bird’s egg is a miracle of natural selection: an external life–support system. Learn about the extraordinary life of an egg, how they are made and how they work, all with special reference to birds breeding in our grounds.

Event Details
Young Archaeologists’ Club: Aerial Photography for Archaeology

Sat 19 March, 10.30am-12.15pm

Young Archaeologists’ Club: Aerial Photography for Archaeology

Join Martyn Barber, Senior Investigator, Aerial Survey & Investigation at Historic England, for the final Archaeologists' Club this team, looking at how aerial photography can be used by archaeologists.

Event Details
Easter Trail

Sun 27 March, Mon 28 March, 1pm-3.30pm

Easter Trail

Our Museum and garden are full of clues, find them all and win a chocolate egg!

£2 per child, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult. Suitable for ages 2+.

Make your own Bishop’s Mitre Family Drop-in

Wed 30 March, 2pm-3.30pm

Make your own Bishop’s Mitre Family Drop-in

A mitre is a special hat worn by a bishop. Make and decorate your own bishop’s mitre to wear and take home with you.

£2 per child, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult. Suitable for ages 2+.

April 2016

Garden Walks

Sun 3 April, Thu 14 April, 2pm

Garden Walks

Join us for this tour of the Fulham Palace garden and discover more about it's history and the rare plants grown at the Palace today.

The garden has a long and fascinating history dating back to the Tudor period when Bishop Grindal introduced the tamarisk to England through to Bishop Compton’s famous collection of plants in the early 1700s.

Event Details
Museum Drop-in

Sun 3 April, 2pm-3.30pm

Museum Drop-in

During this Tudor themed family drop-in, try on period costume, handle artefacts and learn about the history of Fulham Palace.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 4 April, Mon 11 Apr, Mon 18 Apr, Mon 25 Apr, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Head Gardener Surgery

Mon 4 April, 2pm-3pm

Head Gardener Surgery

Have a tricky gardening problem you can't fix at home? Sign up for these sessions where Lucy Hart, Head Gardener will give tailored advice for all of your garden relating conundrums.

 

Event Details
The Palace Explorers

Tue 5 April, Tue 12 Apr, Tue 19 Apr, Tue 26 Apr, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Palace Stories

Tue 5 April, Tue 26 April, 2pm-2.30pm

Palace Stories

Hear the Palace’s history brought to life in these tales of the characters who lived here and stories inspired by our beautiful surroundings.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 6 April, Sun 10 Apr, Sun 17 Apr*, Tue 19 Apr, Sun 24 Apr, 2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Click here for more information on tours.

Bird Sculptures Family Drop-in

Wed 6 April, 2pm-3.30pm

Bird Sculptures Family Drop-in

Be inspired by the wide variety of birds that call our garden home, and join us on the main lawn to create your own Fulham Palace bird sculpture.

£2 per child, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult. Suitable for ages 2+.

Beginner’s Birdwatching

Sat 9 April, 9.30am-12pm

Beginner’s Birdwatching

Join Brenna Boyle from Wild Capital for an illustrated talk about the bird species found in our gardens, before setting out on a walk to spot, listen to and identify them.

Event Details
Little Green Fingers Gardening Session

Sat 9 April, 10.30am-12pm

Little Green Fingers Gardening Session

Learn how vegetables and flowers grow and have a go at seed sowing in the garden beds and other fun gardening activities.

 

Event Details
Brushwood Staking –  CHANGE OF DATE

Mon 11 April, 1.30pm-3.30pm

Brushwood Staking – CHANGE OF DATE

Learn how to create beautiful plant supports using coppiced hazel brushwood by building your own structures in our historic Walled Garden. Receive instruction from our garden team and an introduction by Lucy Hart, Head Gardener.

Event Details
The Reawakening of the Fulham Palace Garden

Mon 11 April, 2pm

The Reawakening of the Fulham Palace Garden

During this illustrated talk Lucy Hart, Head Gardener, will share her experience of restoring the garden over the past five years and her plans for the future.

Event Details
Brushwood Staking

Fri 15 April, 1.30pm-3.30pm

Brushwood Staking

Learn how to create beautiful plant supports using coppiced hazel brushwood by building your own structures in our historic Walled Garden. Receive instruction from our garden team and an introduction by Lucy Hart, Head Gardener.

Event Details
Exploring the Museum Collections

Mon 25 April, 11am

Exploring the Museum Collections

Come to the Museum for a chance to see and handle items from the collection that are not normally on display.

Free, booking recommended. Click here to book.

A Walk with the Head Gardener

Thu 28 April, 6.45pm

A Walk with the Head Gardener

Join Lucy Hart, Head Gardener, for an evening tour of the garden to learn about its history, ongoing projects and future plans.

Event Details
Designed at Richard P Chapman Design Associates