› Sign up to our newsletter

What’s on

June 2016

The Palace Explorers

Mon 6 June, Mon 13 Jun, Mon 20 Jun, Mon 27 Jun, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 7 June, Tue 14 Jun, Tue 21 Jun, Tue 28 Jun, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Young Archaeologists’ Club: Archaeology on the Foreshore – SOLD OUT

Sat 25 June, 11.15am-1pm

Young Archaeologists’ Club: Archaeology on the Foreshore – SOLD OUT

Want to learn about Archaeology but don't know where to start? Then the Fulham Palace Young Archaeologists' Club is the place for you. Meeting monthly on Saturday mornings the club will explore the fascinating world of archaeology through practical hands on sessions with real archaeologists.

Event Details
Youth Panel – Cancelled

Sat 25 June, 2pm-4pm

Youth Panel – Cancelled

Fulham Palace has started a Youth Panel! This is a chance to get involved in what happens at the Palace from exhibitions to archaeology digs, family events to conservation work.

Event Details
For the Love of Flowers: A Short Introduction to Flower Arranging – SOLD OUT

Thu 30 June, 6.30pm-9pm

For the Love of Flowers: A Short Introduction to Flower Arranging – SOLD OUT

During this relaxed evening workshop with florist Helen Cranmer, learn how to prepare and condition flowers using cuttings from the historic Walled Garden.

Event Details

July 2016

Garden Walks

Sun 3 July, Thu 14 Jul, 2pm

Garden Walks

Join us for this tour of the Fulham Palace garden and discover more about its history and the rare plants grown at the Palace today.

The garden has a long and fascinating history dating back to the Tudor period when Bishop Grindal introduced the tamarisk to England through to Bishop Compton’s famous collection of plants in the early 1700s.

Event Details
Danny the Champion of the World

Sun 3 July, 2.30pm

Danny the Champion of the World

Danny and his devoted father live in a caravan and operate the village’s local petrol station and garage. When Danny turns nine he is devastated to find out about his father’s secret passion for pheasant-poaching in the estate of the nasty, greedy Victor Hazell, the local wealthy landowner.

Event Details
The Palace Explorers

Mon 4 July, Mon 11 Jul, Mon 18 Jul, Mon 25 Jul, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Head Gardener’s Surgery

Mon 4 July, 2pm-3pm

Head Gardener’s Surgery

Have a tricky gardening problem you can't fix at home? Sign up for this session where Lucy Hart, Head Gardener will give tailored advice for all of your garden related conundrums.

 

Event Details
The Palace Explorers

Tue 5 July, Tue 12 Jul, Tue 19 Jul, Tue 26 Jul, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Monthly Historical Tours

Wed 6 July, Sun 10 Jul, Sun 17* Jul, Tue 19 Jul, Sun 24 Jul, 2pm /*12.30pm

Monthly Historical Tours

Learn the secrets of Fulham Palace on this Historical Tour through the grounds and public rooms of the Palace. £6 per person, accompanied children free, no booking necessary, meet in the Museum. Click here for more information on tours.

Palace Stories

Thu 7 July, Thu 21 Jul, Sun 24 Jul, 2.30pm-3pm

Palace Stories

Hear the Palace’s history brought to life in these tales of the characters who lived here and stories inspired by our beautiful surroundings.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Museum Drop-in

Sun 10 July, 2pm

Museum Drop-in

During this Georgian themed family drop-in, try on period costume, handle artefacts and learn about the history of Fulham Palace.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Paintings in Focus- The Benjamin Wests

Mon 11 July, 2pm-2.30pm

Paintings in Focus- The Benjamin Wests

Join Curator Miranda Poliakoff for a closer look at the paintings in the Museum.

Free, booking essential. Click here to book.

 

Young Archaeologists’ Club: Finds Processing –  SOLD OUT

Sat 16 July, 10.30am-12.15pm

Young Archaeologists’ Club: Finds Processing – SOLD OUT

Want to learn about Archaeology but don't know where to start? Then the Fulham Palace Young Archaeologists' Club is the place for you. Meeting monthly on Saturday mornings the club will explore the fascinating world of archaeology through practical hands on sessions with real archaeologists.

Event Details
Moat Walk for the Festival of Archaeology

Sun 17 July, 2pm

Moat Walk for the Festival of Archaeology

As part of the Festival of Archaeology, join this walk exploring the route of Fulham Palace’s former moat – the longest domestic moat in England. Learn more on the theories of its origin and why it was infilled in the 1920s.

Event Details
Learning to Scythe Effortlessly and Creating a Wildflower Meadow

Mon 18 July, 10am-4pm/1.45pm-4pm

Learning to Scythe Effortlessly and Creating a Wildflower Meadow

Clive Leeke leads this two-part course. Begin by learning how to fit, sharpen and mow with an Austrian scythe. Afterwards explore labour saving techniques which can be used when creating a new meadow and how to improve diversity on existing grassland.

Event Details
Evening Walk with the Head Gardener

Thu 28 July, 6.45pm

Evening Walk with the Head Gardener

Join Lucy Hart, Head Gardener, for an evening tour of the garden to learn about its history, ongoing projects and future plans.

Event Details
606 Club Jazz: The Fontanas

Fri 29 July, 7.30pm

606 Club Jazz: The Fontanas

Led by guitarist/singer Sam Sutton and fronted by the wonderful singer Kay Elizabeth, this Brazilian Funk and Soul band have made quite an impact on the music scene. Come along for a fantastic night of infectious high energy music.

Event Details
606 Club Jazz: Georgina Jackson

Sat 30 July, 7.30pm

606 Club Jazz: Georgina Jackson

A first rate jazz singer and trumpet player with exciting vocals, Georgina has performed with the BBC Big Band and Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Orchestra. See and hear her at Fulham Palace for this not-to-be-missed performance!

Event Details

August 2016

The Palace Explorers

Mon 1 August, Mon 8 Aug, Mon 15 Aug, Mon 22 Aug, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

The Four Chapels of Fulham Palace

Mon 1 August, 2pm

The Four Chapels of Fulham Palace

The foundation stone of the Tait Chapel was laid 100 years ago. It was the fourth to be built on the site. Come along and find out about all of them on a tour with Miranda Poliakoff, Curator.

Free, booking recommended. Click here to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 2 August, Tue 9 Aug, Tue 16 Aug, Tue 23 Aug, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

The Art Marquee – Pizzas with Toppings from our Garden

Wed 3 August, 1pm-4pm

The Art Marquee – Pizzas with Toppings from our Garden

Get creative at the art marquee, our practical drop-in sessions. Join us on the Main Lawn and make pizzas using fresh ingredients from our vegetable garden.

£2 per child, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Palace Stories

Thu 4 August, Thu 18 Aug, Sun 28 Aug, 2.30pm-3pm

Palace Stories

Hear the Palace’s history brought to life in these tales of the characters who lived here and stories inspired by our beautiful surroundings.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Garden Walks

Thu 11 August, Sun 21 Aug, 2pm

Garden Walks

Join us for this tour of the Fulham Palace garden and discover more about its history and the rare plants grown at the Palace today.

The garden has a long and fascinating history dating back to the Tudor period when Bishop Grindal introduced the tamarisk to England through to Bishop Compton’s famous collection of plants in the early 1700s.

Event Details
The History of Bishop’s Park

Sat 13 August, 2pm

The History of Bishop’s Park

Formed from meadows once belonging to the Bishop of London’s estate, discover the Park’s fascinating history on this guided walk.

Free, booking recommended. Click here to book.

 

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Thu 25 August, 7.30pm

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Five couples – three human, one fairy, and one mythical – find their relationships sorely tested, intimately probed and indecently exposed when a troupe of amateur theatricals bumble into the forest to rehearse a play.

Event Details

September 2016

Palace Stories

Thu 1 September, Thu 15 Sep, Sun 25 Sep, 2.30pm-3pm

Palace Stories

Hear the Palace’s history brought to life in these tales of the characters who lived here and stories inspired by our beautiful surroundings.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 5 September, Mon 12 Sep, Mon 19 Sep, Mon 26 Sep, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 6 September, Tue 13 Sep, Tue 20 Sep, Tue 27 Sep, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Little Green Fingers Gardening Session

Sat 10 September, 10.30am-12pm

Little Green Fingers Gardening Session

Learn how vegetables and flowers grow and have a go at seed sowing in the garden beds and other fun gardening activities.

Suitable for ages 3+

Event Details
Colds and Allergies

Sat 10 September, 1pm-5pm

Colds and Allergies

Explore how resilience to infections can be improved through non-medical nutritional and herbal support, with practical demonstrations, a walk in the garden and a guide and utensils to take home.

Event Details
Foreshore Walk for Totally Thames Festival

Sun 11 September, 2pm

Foreshore Walk for Totally Thames Festival

The foreshore of the River Thames is one of London’s largest and most important archaeological sites, with remains spanning 10,000 years of the Capital’s fascinating history being revealed at low tide.

Event Details
The Bishops and the First English Revolution, 1258-1265

Mon 12 September, 2pm

The Bishops and the First English Revolution, 1258-1265

In 1258, eight bishops, including the Bishop of London, joined with the barons led by Simon de Montfort to limit the power of King Henry III. They took up seats on the revolutionary council, argued their case to the papacy, and led the propaganda war.

Event Details
Paintings in Focus- The Royal Portraits

Thu 15 September, 2pm-2.30pm

Paintings in Focus- The Royal Portraits

Join Curator Miranda Poliakoff for a closer look at the paintings in the Museum.

Free, booking essential. Click here to book.

Composting

Sat 17 September, 1.30pm-3.30pm

Composting

Interested in transforming your kitchen and garden waste into a nutritious food for your plants? Learn everything you need to know during this afternoon workshop with Head Gardener, Lucy Hart.

Event Details
Notting Hill, cert 15

Tue 20 September, 7.30pm

Notting Hill, cert 15

This true British classic comes to Fulham Palace this summer, starring Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts as the humble bookshop owner and the world’s most famous movie actress.

Event Details
Top Gun, cert 12

Wed 21 September, 7.30pm

Top Gun, cert 12

Celebrate the 30th anniversary of this iconic 80’s classic underneath the stars on our Main Lawn. Have your breath taken away again by the speed, skills and daring of Maverick (Tom Cruise), Iceman (ValKilmer) and the other elite fighter pilots.

 

Event Details
Flowers for the Home: Mantelpiece Arrangements

Sat 24 September, 10am-4pm

Flowers for the Home: Mantelpiece Arrangements

Perfect for any season or event, learn techniques for creating arrangements to sit upon mantelpieces and ledges at this workshop with florist Helen Cranmer. Create your own arrangement using sumptuous seasonal flowers, foliage and gourds.

Event Details

October 2016

Museum Drop-in

Sun 2 October, 2pm-3.30pm

Museum Drop-in

During this Roman themed family drop-in, try on period costume, handle artefacts and learn about the history of Fulham Palace.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

The Palace Explorers

Mon 3 October, Mon 10 Oct, Mon 17 Oct, Mon 24 Oct, Mon 31 Oct, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

The Palace Explorers

Tue 4 October, Tue 11 Oct, Tue 18 Oct, Tue 25 Oct, 10.30am-11.30am

The Palace Explorers

Join the Palace Explorers, weekly parent/carer and toddler sessions for children aged 2-4.  £3 per child, which includes a drink and healthy snack, booking essential.  Click here for more information and to book.

Palace Stories

Thu 6 October, Thu 20 Oct, Sun 23 Oct, 2.30pm-3pm

Palace Stories

Hear the Palace’s history brought to life in these tales of the characters who lived here and stories inspired by our beautiful surroundings.

Free, no booking necessary. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Apple Day Celebration

Sun 9 October, 11am-3pm

Apple Day Celebration

Celebrate the apple harvest with us in our Walled Garden, home to our Apple Orchard! With activities for the whole family to enjoy from apple displays, tastings, demonstrations, storytelling, live music as well as food and drink stalls.

Event Details
Butterfield and Fulham Palace

Thu 20 October, 2pm

Butterfield and Fulham Palace

Renowned architect William Butterfield designed the Chapel and other areas of the Palace. He was a major influence in developing the High Victorian Gothic style. Join Curator Miranda Poliakoff for a tour of his work.

Event Details
Bronze Arts Award in a Week

Mon 24 October, 10pm-4pm

Bronze Arts Award in a Week

Get creative this half-term and make new friends whilst learning a new artistic skill! In October half-term Fulham Palace are offering anybody between the ages of 11 and 16 the chance to complete their Bronze Arts Award.

Event Details
Bones, Bats and Bumps in the Night Workshop

Tue 25 October, 10am-3pm

Bones, Bats and Bumps in the Night Workshop

Uncover the secret nocturnal world of owls and bats during this session led by Brenna Boyle from Wild Capital. Examine bones, skeletons and remains, take part in a quiz and test your knowledge of bat echolocation.

 

Event Details
Hallowe’en Crafts and Pumpkin Parade

Sun 30 October, 2pm-4.30pm

Hallowe’en Crafts and Pumpkin Parade

Enjoy Hallowe'en themed crafts and face painting in Bishop's Park. Bring a pre-carved pumpkin and any musical instruments or noisy objects so we can make some noise to scare away the ghouls on a pumpkin parade at 4pm.

 

Event Details
Fulham Palace Young People’s Ghost Tour

Sun 30 October, 6pm-7pm

Fulham Palace Young People’s Ghost Tour

Join us for a spine-chilling after-dark tour and hear spooky tales of haunting bishops and ghostly apparitions at the Palace. Don't forget to bring a torch!

Event Details
Fulham Palace Ghost Tour

Mon 31 October, 7pm

Fulham Palace Ghost Tour

Hear the tales of hauntings by bishops and other inhabitants of this Tudor building during this exclusive after-hours ghost tour.

Event Details
Designed at Richard P Chapman Design Associates