The Architects and Craftsmen of Fulham Palace
9 October 2016 to 20 April 2017
The Fulham Palace buildings are a fascinating mixture of architectural styles which have developed over the centuries. This exhibition will explore the lives of the different architects who have worked at the site.
Stiff Leadbetter, the first known architect to work at the Palace, remodelled the building in the fashionable Strawberry Hill style in the 1760s for Bishop Terrick. By 1818 the Palace had been altered extensively once more, this time for Bishop Howley for Samuel Pepys Cockerell. In 1866 Bishop Tait commissioned William Butterfield to design the existing Gothic Revival Chapel.
The displays will look at the different bishops and their architects who have transformed the Palace over the centuries, along with the different crafts used to embellish the building such as stained glass, plasterwork, mosaic and ceramic tiles.
The exhibition will be open during regular Museum opening hours until 20 April 2017.
The exhibition told the story of the Great War at the Palace, the role of the Bishop of London during the national crisis and examined the Palace’s use as an auxiliary military hospital during 1918 and 1919.
The exhibition contained the newly acquired autograph album of nurse Sister Mary Latchmore. The images, poems and drawings of the patients give us a powerful insight to life at Fulham Palace during this time.